Faculty Advisory Board

CRI's Faculty Advisory Board is composed of FIU faculty members from several departments. The board's primary role is to provide intellectual guidance to CRI's research agenda. Members also make recommendations concerning the institute's academic programs and serve as liaisons with faculty associates.

Erik Camayd-Freixas

Erik Camayd-Freixas, Professor, Department of Modern Languages

Areas of expertise: modern and contemporary Spanish American literature, immigration, translation and interpretation
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 491A
Email: Erik.Camayd@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.6222

Danielle Pilar Clealand

Danielle Pilar Clealand, Assistant Professor, Department of Politics & International Relations

Areas of expertise: comparative racial politics, racial ideology, nationalism, group consciousness, and racial attitudes in the Americas
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, SIPA 412
Email: danielle.clealand@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.3295

Eduardo Gamarra

Eduardo Gamarra, Professor, Department of Politics & International Relations

Areas of expertise: Latin American politics, democratization, neo-populism
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, SIPA 409
Email: gamarrae@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.1718

Orlando Jacinto García

Orlando Jacinto García, Professor, School of Music

Areas of expertise: music composition, technology and music, electronic music
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, PAC 141
Email: garciao@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.3357

Jennifer Gebelein

Jennifer Gebelein, Visiting Research Professor, Department of Earth & Environment

Areas of expertise: physical geography, environmental change, land cover and land use change, Caribbean landscapes
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, ECS 467
Email: gebelein@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.1859

Guillermo J. Grenier

Guillermo J. Grenier, Professor, Department of Global & Sociocultural Studies

Areas of expertise: immigration, ethnicity, work and labor markets, Cuba/Latin America
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, SIPA 331
Email: grenierg@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.3217

Sherry Johnson

Sherry Johnson, Professor, Department of History

Areas of expertise: Cuba and the Caribbean, environment and climate change, disasters such as hurricanes, medicine, women and gender, and social history
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 388B
Email: 
johnsons@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.3363

Marifeli Pérez-Stable

Marifeli Pérez-Stable, Professor, Department of Global & Sociocultural Studies

Areas of expertise: Latin America, Cuba and the Caribbean, political sociology, historical sociology, public intellectuals, national reconciliation, human rights
Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 354
Email: stablem@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2894