Faculty

Image: faculty.jpg

The Cuban Research Institute draws upon the expertise of more than fifty faculty members, the largest nucleus of specialists on Cuba or the Cuban-American community of any university in the United States. Specializing in twenty-one different disciplines, CRI's faculty associates come from various colleges and schools throughout the university, from the humanities and social sciences, to the natural sciences, to law, architecture, and medicine. Every year, CRI's faculty associates teach courses and conduct research on diverse topics such as Cuban politics, history, geography, music, literature, and biology.

Sebastián A. Arcos

Sebastián A. Arcos, Associate Director, Cuban Research Institute

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 447
Email: arcoss@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.7250

Miguel Asencio

Miguel Asencio, Engagement Project Manager

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, Green Library (GL) 310B
Email: masencio@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.3008

Bradley C. Bennett

Bradley C. Bennett, Director, Center for Ethnobiology and Natural Products

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, AHC1-319B
Email: bennett@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.3586

Juan Antonio Bueno

Juan Antonio Bueno, Professor, Department of Landscape Architecture

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, PCA 389
Email: buenoj@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.0003

Erik Camayd-Freixas

Erik Camayd-Freixas, Professor, Department of Modern Languages

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 499B
Email: camayde@fiu.edu or Erik.Camayd@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.6222

Jaime Canavés

Jaime Canavés, Professor, Department of Architecture

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, PCA 388A
Email: canavesj@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.3031

Julio Capó Jr.

Julio Capó Jr., Associate Professor, Department of History, and Deputy Director, Wolfsonian Public Humanities Lab

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 399
Email: jcapo@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.1535

Phillip M. Carter

Phillip M. Carter, Associate Professor, Department of English, & Director, Center for Humanities in an Urban Environment

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 461A
Email: pmcarter@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2874

Rita M. Cauce

Rita M. Cauce, Head, Cataloging Department, FIU Libraries

Office: Biscayne Bay Campus, Hubert Library, 224A
Email: caucer@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.919.4052 / 305.348.0547

Carol Damian

Carol Damian, Professor, Department of Art History

Email: damianc@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.3366

Grenville Draper

Grenville Draper, Professor, Department of Earth & Environment, and Associate Director, Liberal Studies Program

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, PC 316
Email: draper@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.3087

Jorge Duany

Jorge Duany, Director, Cuban Research Institute, and Professor, Department of Global & Sociocultural Studies

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 446
Email: joduany@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.1991

Alain Durán

Alain Durán, Assistant Teaching Professor, Department of Biological Sciences

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, OE 247
Telephone: 305.348.3097
Email: alduran@fiu.edu

Juan Carlos Espinosa

Juan Carlos Espinosa, Dean and Fellow, Honors College

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 237
Email: espinosj@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.4100

Jorge Luis Esquirol

Jorge Luis Esquirol, Professor, College of Law

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, RDB 2061
Email: esquirol@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.8343

Javier Francisco-Ortega

Javier Francisco-Ortega, Professor, Department of Biological Sciences

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, OE 242
Email: ortegaj@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2080
Personal Webpage

Angelique Ortega Fridman

Angelique Ortega Fridman, Associate Dean of Students and Assistant Professor, College of Law

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, RDB 2015
Email: afridman@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2384

José M. Gabilondo

José M. Gabilondo, Professor and Associate Dean for Accreditation & Reporting, College of Law

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, RDB 2042
Email: jose.gabilondo@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.5943

Eduardo Gamarra

Eduardo Gamarra, Professor, Department of Politics & International Relations

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, SIPA 409
Email: gamarrae@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.1718

Orlando Jacinto García

Orlando Jacinto García, Professor, Herbert and Nicole Wertheim School of Music & Performing Arts

Office: Miami Beach Urban Studios (MBUS) 439
Email: garciao@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.535.2617
Personal Webpage

Jennifer Gebelein

Jennifer Gebelein, Visiting Research Professor, Department of Earth & Environment, and Director, Academic Initiatives

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, SASC 421
Email: gebelein@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.1859
Personal Webpage

Hugh Gladwin

Hugh Gladwin, Professor Emeritus, Department of Global & Sociocultural Studies

Office: Biscayne Bay Campus, AC1, 311
Telephone: 305.919.5839
Email: hugh.gladwin@fiu.edu
Click here to view the FIU Cuba Polls

Juan Carlos Gómez

Juan Carlos Gómez, Director, Carlos A. Costa Immigration and Human Rights Clinic

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, RDB 1010
Email: jcagomez@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.7541

Annia González

Annia González, Special Collections Librarian, Special Collections and University Archives

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, GL 424
Email: aalfonso@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2412

Verónica A. González

Verónica A. González, Librarian, Sound and Image Resources Department, Green Library

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, GL 510
Email: gonzalev@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2818

Guillermo J. Grenier

Guillermo J. Grenier, Professor, Department of Global & Sociocultural Studies

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, SIPA 331
Email: grenierg@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.3217

Gail Hollander

Gail Hollander, Associate Professor, Department of Global & Sociocultural Studies

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, SIPA 319
Email: gail.hollander@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.3217

Sherry Johnson

Sherry Johnson, Professor Emerita, Department of History

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 388B
Email: johnsons@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.3363

Santiago Juan-Navarro

Santiago Juan-Navarro, Professor, Department of Modern Languages

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 499
Email: navarros@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2044

Qing Lai

Qing Lai, Associate Professor and Graduate Program Director, Department of Global and Sociocultural Studies

Office: Modesto Maidique Campus, SIPA 313
Email: qlai@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.6663

Brian S. Latell

Brian S. Latell, Adjunct Professor and Senior Research Associate, Jack Gordon Institute for Public Policy

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, LC 220
Email address: blatell@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2977

Ronald M. Lee

Ronald M. Lee, Professor, Department of Decision Sciences and Information Systems

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, RB 250
Email: leerm@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.4709

Francis Xavier Luca

Francis Xavier Luca, Chief Librarian, The Wolfsonian–FIU, and Adjunct Professor, Department of History

Office: The Wolfsonian–FIU, MB01 324A; Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 371A
Email: lucaf@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.535.2641

Sarah J. Mahler

Sarah J. Mahler, Associate Professor, Department of Global & Sociocultural Studies

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, SIPA 307
Email: mahlers@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2995

Anthony P. Maingot

Anthony P. Maingot, Professor Emeritus, Department of Global & Sociocultural Studies

Email: maingota@FIU.EDU

Félix E. Martín

Félix E. Martín, Associate Professor, Department of Politics & International Relations

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, SIPA 426
Email: martinf@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.1858

Lourdes Martin

Lourdes Martin, Clinical Instructor and HELP Social Work Coordinator

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, AHC5 596
Email: martinl@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.6680

Catherine Mas

Catherine Mas, Assistant Professor, Department of History

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 395B
Email: cmas@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.6212

Ana Menéndez

Ana Menéndez, Associate Professor, Wolfsonian Public Humanities Lab and Department of English

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, GL 489
Email: ana.menendez1@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.1962

Frank O. Mora

Frank O. Mora, Professor, Department of Politics & International Relations, & Senior Researcher, Gordon Institute

Email: moraf@fiu.edu

Dario V. Moreno

Dario V. Moreno, Associate Professor, Department of Politics & International Relations

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, SIPA 408
Email: dario.moreno@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.3854

Marilys R. Nepomechie

Marilys R. Nepomechie, Associate Dean for Strategic Initiatives and Professor, Deparment of Architecture

Office: PCA 281B
Tel. 305.348.1887
Email: nepomech@fiu.edu

Marifeli Pérez-Stable

Marifeli Pérez-Stable, Professor Emerita, Department of Global & Sociocultural Studies

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, SIPA 301
Email: stablem@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2258

Andrea Jean Queeley

Andrea Jean Queeley, Associate Professor, Department of Global & Sociocultural Studies

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, LC 303B
Email: aqueeley@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.6289

Ana Roca

Ana Roca, Professor Emerita, Department of Modern Languages

Email: rocaa@fiu.edu

Ediberto Román

Ediberto Román, Professor, College of Law

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, RDB 2040
Email: romane@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2444

Gene Rosenberg

Gene Rosenberg, Assistant Teaching Professor, Department of Biological Sciences

Email: grosenbe@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2201

Eugenio M. Rothe

Eugenio M. Rothe, Professor, Department of Psychiatry & Behavioral Health

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, FIU Health Miami
Email: erothe@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.3627

Jorge Salazar-Carrillo

Jorge Salazar-Carrillo, Professor, Department of Economics

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 319B
Email: Jorge.Salazar-Carrillo@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.3283

Althea (Vicki) Silvera

Althea (Vicki) Silvera, Department Head, Special Collections Department, Green Library

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, GL 422
Email: silverav@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.3136

Emma M. Sordo

Emma M. Sordo, Adjunct Professor, Department of History

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 397
Email: sordoe@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2328

Alex Stepick

Alex Stepick, Professor Emeritus, Department of Global & Sociocultural Studies

Email: Alex.Stepick@fiu.edu

Joan Torres-Pou

Joan Torres-Pou, Professor, Department of Modern Languages

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 492A
Email: pouj@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.6223

Maida Watson

Maida Watson, Professor, Department of Modern Languages

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 496
Email: watsonm@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2043