Faculty

Image: faculty.jpg

The Cuban Research Institute draws upon the expertise of more than 50 faculty members, the largest nucleus of specialists on Cuba or the Cuban-American community of any university in the United States. Specializing in 21 different disciplines, CRI's faculty associates come from various colleges and schools throughout the university, from the humanities and social sciences, to the natural sciences, to law, architecture, and medicine. Every year, CRI's faculty associates teach courses and conduct research on diverse topics such as Cuban politics, history, geography, music, literature, and biology.

Sebastián A. Arcos

Sebastián A. Arcos, Associate Director, Cuban Research Institute

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 447
Email: arcoss@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.7250

Bradley C. Bennett

Bradley C. Bennett, Director, Center for Ethnobiology and Natural Products

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, AHC1-319B
Email: bennett@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.3586

Juan Antonio Bueno

Juan Antonio Bueno, Professor, Department of Landscape Architecture

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, PCA 389
Email: buenoj@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.0003

Michael J. Bustamante

Michael J. Bustamante, Assistant Professor, Department of History

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 385C
Telephone: 305.348.2035
Email: mbustama@fiu.edu

Erik Camayd-Freixas

Erik Camayd-Freixas, Professor, Department of Modern Languages

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 499B
Email: camayde@fiu.edu or Erik.Camayd@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.6222

Jaime Canavés

Jaime Canavés, Professor, Department of Architecture

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, PCA 388A
Email: canavesj@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.3031

Phillip M. Carter

Phillip M. Carter, Assistant Professor, Department of English

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 461A
Email: pmcarter@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2874

Ricardo Castells

Ricardo Castells, Professor, Department of Modern Languages

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 485A
Email: castells@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2130

Rita M. Cauce

Rita M. Cauce, Head, Cataloging Department, FIU Libraries

Office: Biscayne Bay Campus, Hubert Library, 224A
Email: caucer@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.919.4052 / 305.348.0547

Danielle Pilar Clealand

Danielle Pilar Clealand, Assistant Professor, Department of Politics & International Relations

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, SIPA 412
Email: danielle.clealand@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.3295

Carol Damian

Carol Damian, Professor, Department of Art History

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, PCA
Email: damianc@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2897

Grenville Draper

Grenville Draper, Professor, Department of Earth & Environment

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, PC 316
Email: draper@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.3087

Jorge Duany

Jorge Duany, Director, Cuban Research Institute

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 446
Email: joduany@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.1991

Juan Carlos Espinosa

Juan Carlos Espinosa, Interim Dean and Fellow, Honors College

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 237
Email: espinosj@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.4100

Jorge Luis Esquirol

Jorge Luis Esquirol, Professor, College of Law

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, RDB 2061
Email: esquirol@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.8343

Javier Francisco-Ortega

Javier Francisco-Ortega, Professor, Department of Biological Sciences

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, OE 242
Email: ortegaj@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2080
Personal Webpage

Angelique Ortega Fridman

Angelique Ortega Fridman, Associate Dean of Students, College of Law

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, RDB 2054
Email: afridman@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.3354

José M. Gabilondo

José M. Gabilondo, Professor, College of Law

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, RDB 2042
Telephone: 305.348.5943
Email: jose.gabilondo@fiu.edu

Eduardo Gamarra

Eduardo Gamarra, Professor, Department of Politics & International Relations

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, SIPA 409
Email: gamarrae@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.1718

Orlando Jacinto García

Orlando Jacinto García, Professor, School of Music

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, PAC 141
Email: garciao@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.3357
Personal Webpage

Jennifer Gebelein

Jennifer Gebelein, Visiting Research Professor, Department of Earth & Environment

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, ECS 467
Email: gebelein@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.1859
Personal Webpage

Hugh Gladwin

Hugh Gladwin, Associate Professor, Department of Global & Sociocultural Studies

Office: Biscayne Bay Campus, AC1, 311
Telephone: 305.919.5839
Email: hugh.gladwin@fiu.edu
Click here to view the FIU Cuba Polls

Annia González

Annia González, Special Collections Librarian, Special Collections and University Archives

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, GL 424
Email: aalfonso@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2412

Verónica A. González

Verónica A. González, Librarian, Sound and Image Resources Department, Green Library

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, GL 510
Email: gonzalev@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2818

Pedro José Greer, Jr.

Pedro José Greer, Jr., Associate Dean for Community Engagagement, Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, AHC-2, Room 685
Email: Pedro.Greer@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.4554

Guillermo J. Grenier

Guillermo J. Grenier, Chair and Professor, Department of Global & Sociocultural Studies

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, SIPA 331
Email: grenierg@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.3217

Gail Hollander

Gail Hollander, Associate Professor, Department of Global & Sociocultural Studies

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, SIPA 319
Email: gail.hollander@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.3217

Sherry Johnson

Sherry Johnson, Professor, Department of History

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 388B
Email: johnsons@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.3363

Santiago Juan-Navarro

Santiago Juan-Navarro, Associate Chair and Professor, Department of Modern Languages

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 499
Email: navarros@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2044

Ronald M. Lee

Ronald M. Lee, Professor, Department of Decision Sciences and Information Systems

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, RB 250
Email: leerm@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.4709

Sarah J. Mahler

Sarah J. Mahler, Associate Professor, Department of Global & Sociocultural Studies

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, SIPA 307
Email: mahlers@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2995

Anthony P. Maingot

Anthony P. Maingot, Professor Emeritus, Department of Global & Sociocultural Studies

Email: maingota@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2247

Félix E. Martín

Félix E. Martín, Associate Professor, Department of Politics & International Relations

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, SIPA 426
Email: martinf@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.1858

Lourdes Martin

Lourdes Martin, Clinical Instructor and HELP Social Work Coordinator

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, GL 475A
Email: martinl@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.6680

Iveris L. Martínez

Iveris L. Martínez, Associate Professor, Department of Humanities, Health, and Society

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, HLS II-462
Email: Iveris.Martinez@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.0622

Juan A. Martínez

Juan A. Martínez, Professor Emeritus, Department of Art + Art History

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, VH 233
Email: martinej@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.3539

Frank O. Mora

Frank O. Mora, Director, Kimberly Green Latin American and Caribbean Center

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 353
Email: moraf@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2894

Dario V. Moreno

Dario V. Moreno, Associate Professor, Department of Politics & International Relations

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, SIPA 408
Email: dario.moreno@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.3854

Marilys R. Nepomechie

Marilys R. Nepomechie, Professor, Deparment of Architecture

Office: PCA 386-A
Tel. 305.348.1887
Email: nepomech@fiu.edu

Marifeli Pérez-Stable

Marifeli Pérez-Stable, Professor, Department of Global & Sociocultural Studies

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 353
Email: stablem@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2894

Andrea Jean Queeley

Andrea Jean Queeley, Associate Professor, Department of Global & Sociocultural Studies

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, LC 303B
Email: aqueeley@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.6289

Ana Roca

Ana Roca, Professor Emerita, Department of Modern Languages

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 484B
Email: rocaa@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2046

Ediberto Román

Ediberto Román, Professor, College of Law

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, RDB 2040
Email: romane@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2444

Gene Rosenberg

Gene Rosenberg, Lecturer, Department of Biological Sciences

Office: FIU Modesto A. Maidique Campus, OE 167C
Email: grosenbe@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.1318

Eugenio M. Rothe

Eugenio M. Rothe, Professor, Department of Psychiatry & Behavioral Health

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, UHSC 270
Email: erothe@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.774.1699

Jorge Salazar-Carrillo

Jorge Salazar-Carrillo, Professor, Department of Economics

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 319B
Email: Jorge.Salazar-Carrillo@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.3283

Althea (Vicki) Silvera

Althea (Vicki) Silvera, Department Head, Special Collections Department, Green Library

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, GL 422
Email: silverav@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.3136

Emma M. Sordo

Emma M. Sordo, Lecturer, Department of History

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 397
Email: sordoe@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2328

John F. Stack, Jr.

John F. Stack, Jr., Dean, Steven J. Green School of International and Public Affairs

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, SIPA 530
Email: stackj@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.8372

Alex Stepick

Alex Stepick, Professor Emeritus, Department of Global & Sociocultural Studies

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, SIPA 301
Email: Alex.Stepick@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.3343

Joan Torres-Pou

Joan Torres-Pou, Professor, Department of Modern Languages

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 492A
Email: pouj@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.6223

Maida Watson

Maida Watson, Professor, Department of Modern Languages

Office: Modesto A. Maidique Campus, DM 496
Email: watsonm@fiu.edu
Telephone: 305.348.2043