Visiting Scholars

Image: lillian-guerra.jpg
Dr. Lillian Guerra, a CRI Visiting Scholar during the summer 2014, conducted research for her book, Heroes, Martyrs, and Political Messiahs in Revolutionary Cuba, 1946–1958.

The Cuban Research Institute welcomes visiting scholars working on Cuban and Cuban-American topics. Scholars are chosen on the basis of their academic credentials, their research proposals, and their project's relevance to the institute's mission. Typically, CRI provides scholars with office space; access to a personal computer, the Internet, and library resources; assistance in establishing contacts with FIU faculty members; and general administrative support for the scholars' projects. CRI has sponsored the following visiting scholars in the past few years:

  • Dr. Elaine Acosta González, Co-director, Interdisciplinary Research Program on Care, Family, and Well-Being, Santiago, Chile (Fall 2017-Spring 2018)
  • Jennifer Cearns, Ph.D. candidate, Department of Anthropology, University College London (Fall 2017-Spring 2018)
  • Ana-Sofia Commichau, Ph.D. candidate, Program in Transcultural Studies, University of Heidelberg, Germany (Spring 2013)
  • Lisandra Cuesta Vasallo, M.A. student, Research Center on Architecture and Design, Autonomous University of the State of Mexico, Toluca (Fall 2016-Spring 2017)
  • Dr. Alison Fraunhar, Associate Professor, Department of Art and Design, Saint Xavier University, Chicago (Fall 2012-Spring 2013)
  • Dr. Nora Gámez Torres, independent scholar (Spring 2014)
  • Dr. Lillian Guerra, Waldo Neikirk Professor of Cuban and Caribbean History, University of Florida (Summer 2014)
  • Nelson Jaime Santana, Ph.D. candidate, Department of Sociology, Alberto Hurtado University, Santiago, Chile (Fall 2018)
  • Dr. Alexis Jardines, Distinguished Scholar in Residence, Steven J. Green School of International and Public Affairs, FIU (Fall 2015-Spring 2016)
  • Vicky Jassey, Ph.D. candidate, Program in Ethnomusicology/Performance, Cardiff University/Exeter University, United Kingdom (Spring 2017)
  • Dr. Anna Kaganiec-Kamieńska, Assistant Professor, Institute for American Studies and Polish Diaspora, Jagiellonian University, Krakow, Poland (Spring 2018 and Spring 2013)
  • Petra Kuivala, Ph.D. student, Faculty of Theology, University of Helsinki, Finland (Fall 2016-Spring 2017)
  • Valentina La Rosa, Ph.D. student, Faculty of Foreign Language and Communication, University of Bologna, Italy (Spring 2017)
  • Dr. Consuelo Martínez Reyes, Lecturer, School of Literature, Languages, and Linguistics, Australian National University (Fall 2017)
  • Jorge R. Piñón, Director, Latin America and Caribbean Energy Program, Center for International Energy and Environmental Policy, University of Texas, Austin (Fall 2010-Spring 2011)
  • Víctor Puertodán, President, Alfonso Camín Foundation, Valencia, Spain (Fall 2013)
  • Dr. Catalina Quesada Gómez, Assistant Professor, Spanish American Literature and Culture, University of Bern, Switzerland (Fall 2014)
  • Karla Elizabeth Rueda Vergara, B.A. student, International Relations, University of Guadalajara, Mexico (Fall 2014)
  • Estíbaliz Santamaría Cadaval, Ph.D. candidate, Musicology, Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain (Spring 2018)
  • Evelin Szarka, Ph.D. candidate, Political Science, Institute for Social and European Studies, University of West Hungary (Summer 2013)
  • Dr. Víctor Andrés Triay, Professor, History, Middlesex Community College (Summer 2016/Summer 2017)